Programme of events for 2020

Lectures, unless otherwise stated, are held at the Nottingham Mechanics, 3 North Sherwood Street, NOTTINGHAM NG1 4EZ at 2.30 pm. This venue is fully accessible and has facilities for disabled people. A bookstall is available from 2.00 pm.

Saturday 11 January
Maurice Barley Lecture
‘Wollaton Hall and New Hardwick Hall through 400 years’
Speaker: Pete Smith, Independent Architectural Historian

Saturday 8 February
Norah Witham Lecture
'Lucy Hutchinson’s Memoirs: The Manuscript as Autobiography'
Speaker: David Norbrook, Merton College, Oxford

Saturday 14 March
Myles Thoroton Hildyard Lecture
‘Vikings in your Vocabulary’
Speaker: Dr Richard Dance, University of Cambridge

Saturday 28 March
Nottinghamshire Local History Association Day School
See www.nlha.org.uk for details

Saturday 25 April
Spring Meeting & AGM*
Colston Bassett Village Hall, NG12 3FD
At 2:00 pm

Saturday 16 May
Thoroton Research Group, led by John Wilson
Meet in the Board Room at Nottingham Mechanics at 10:30 am

Tuesday 19 May
Excursion
Boughton House and Brixworth Church
Led by Alan Langton

Thursday 11 June
Excursion
Hanbury Hall and Great Witley Church, Worcestershire
Led by Alan Langton

Friday 26 June
Special Event*
Concert by The City of Lincoln Waites
(There will be a charge for this event)
State Chamber of the Archbishops’ Palace, Southwell Minster

Friday 10 July
Excursion
Elton Hall and Lyddington Bede House & Church
Led by Penny Messenger & Margaret Trueman

Tuesday 15 September
Excursion
Casterne Hall and Ilam, Derbyshire
Led by Alan Langton

Saturday 3 October
Thoroton Research Group, led by John Wilson
Meet in the Board Room at Nottingham Mechanics at 10:30 am

Saturday 10 October
Archaeology Lecture
‘Nottingham Castle Archaeology, Stage 1’
Speaker: Gareth Davies, Trent & Peak Archaeology

Tuesday 13 October
Keith Train Lecture in association with Nottingham Civic Society
‘Updated Pevsner’s Nottinghamshire’
Speaker: Clare Hartwell, Yale University Press
Venue: Nottingham Mechanics, Sherwood Street, at 7:30 pm

Saturday 31 October
Nottinghamshire Local History Association Day School
See www.nlha.org.uk for details

Saturday 7 November
Annual Luncheon*
To be confirmed.
Details will be published in the Newsletter.

Saturday 14 November
Nottinghamshire History Lecture
'Elizabethan and Stuart revenue Collection in Nottinghamshire - and the noble and gentry vitriol it generated'
Speaker: Richard Bullock, Nottingham Trent University

Saturday 12 December
Neville Hoskins Lecture
‘Pilgrim Roots and Mayflower 400’
Speaker: Dr Anna Scott, Heritage Consultant

 

Further details of events marked * will be announced in the Newsletter and on the website.